AIZAAManagement Consultancy

Free zone comparison

Shams vs SPC Free Zone: licence, visas and cost compared

Two Sharjah free zones, both set up in 2017, both publishing a zero-visa licence from AED 5,750. What you get for that figure is quite different.

  • SharjahEmirate of both zones
  • 2017Year both zones were established
  • Since 2015Working from Deira
  • ItemisedWritten quote before anything starts

The short answer

Shams vs SPC Free Zone: what is the difference?

Shams (Sharjah Media City) and SPC Free Zone (Sharjah Publishing City) are both Sharjah free zones that publish prices. Shams sells fixed packages of two or three activities with up to six visas, built around media, trading and services. SPC sells a pay-as-you-go licence with up to five activity groups and visas added when needed.

Side by side

How do Shams and SPC Free Zone compare side by side?

Both are Sharjah free zones established in 2017, but they sell differently. Shams offers fixed packages with 0 to 6 visas and licence terms of 1, 2, 3, 5 and 10 years. SPC offers a pay-as-you-go 1-year licence with up to five activity groups, up to 100 shareholders and visas added as needed, and does not publish renewal fees.

From each zone's own website, checked in November 2026. Both sites show some conflicting figures, which we flag below.

Shams and SPC Free Zone compared on published facts

Shams and SPC Free Zone compared on published facts
FactorShams (Sharjah Media City)SPC Free Zone (Sharjah Publishing City)
Licensing authoritySharjah Media City (Shams), set up by Amiri decree of the Ruler of Sharjah in 2017Sharjah Publishing City Free Zone, Government of Sharjah, established 2017
LocationAl Messaned area, SharjahE311, Sheikh Mohammed Bin Zayed Road, Al Zahia, Sharjah
How it sellsFixed packages: Media, Shams Trader, Freelancer, Standard, Visa for Life and All InclusivePay-as-you-go: a licence first, with visas and services added when needed
ActivitiesMedia package: three media and e-commerce activities. Trader: general trading and e-commerce. Freelancer: three activities, one of them media. Standard: three activitiesUp to five activity groups at no extra cost, from 2,000+ activities
Company structuresSingle and multiple shareholders, depending on packageFZE, FZC-LLC or branch of an existing company; up to 100 shareholders
Office optionsLease agreement included in packages; workspaces and meeting rooms on siteCoworking, virtual office, furnished and unfurnished offices, storage and warehouse
Visa rules publishedStandard package 0 to 6 visas; Visa for Life 1 to 6 visas; Freelancer package up to 1 visaVisas added as needed; SPC describes investor, partner and employee visas as unlimited
Licence terms1, 2, 3, 5 and 10 years; multi-year discounts advertised1-year licence shown; renewal fees not published

Licences

Shams vs SPC: which activities and licence types does each offer?

Shams sells packages with fixed activity lists, while SPC includes up to five activity groups from more than 2,000 activities at no extra cost. Shams' Media package covers three media and e-commerce activities, Trader covers general trading and e-commerce, and Freelancer needs one media activity. At SPC you can form an FZE, an FZC-LLC or a branch.

Shams is a media free zone, and its packages show it. SPC Free Zone calls itself the world's first publishing free zone, but its activities are not limited to publishing.

Shams vs SPC: activities and licence types
FactorShamsSPC
Activities on one licenceSet by the package; see the package table belowUp to five activity groups from more than 2,000 activities, at no extra cost
Activity categoriesSet by the package; see the package table belowListed categories include general trading, professional services, IT, e-commerce, administrative and marketing services
Legal formsNot statedFZE, FZC-LLC or a branch of an existing company
Shams packages and the activities each covers
PackageActivities covered
MediaThree media and e-commerce activities
Shams TraderGeneral trading and e-commerce only
FreelancerA mix of three trading, service or consultancy activities; one must be a media activity
StandardThree activities such as general trading, specific trading, services or consultancy

Check the package against your activity list before you apply.

The same AED 5,750 figure buys different things. At Shams it is the Media package with no visa: three media and e-commerce activities with a lease agreement. At SPC it is a starting price for a one-year, zero-visa licence with up to five activity groups. Compare what is included, not the headline. If you sell online, see our e-commerce licence guide; if you create content, see influencer licence.

Visas and premises

Shams vs SPC: how many visas can you get, and what office options are there?

Shams ties visas to the package, from zero to six on its Standard package, while SPC lets you add visas when needed and describes them as unlimited. Both list visa allocation at AED 1,600. For premises, Shams includes a lease agreement in its packages, and SPC lists coworking, a virtual office, storage and warehouse space.

Shams vs SPC: visa allocation, visa fees and office options
FactorShamsSPC
How visas are addedTied to the packageAdded when you need them rather than at the start, on a pay-as-you-go basis
Visas per packageStandard: zero to six. Visa for Life: one to six. Freelancer: oneDescribed as unlimited; ask how many your chosen premises support before you plan a team
Visa allocationAED 1,600AED 1,600
VisaTwo-year employment or investor visa: AED 3,360Investor visa with Emirates ID: AED 2,530
Medical testNot statedAED 365
Change of statusNot statedAED 700
Company-level registrationsImmigration card and e-channel registrationEstablishment card and e-channel registration
No office needed yetDesk-free start; a lease agreement is included in its packagesDesk-free start; coworking and a virtual office listed
Storage or a trading floorIf you need storage, ask before choosingStorage and warehouse space listed
FamilyAsk Shams for its processSpouse and dependent visa services listed

For sponsoring family members, see family visa.

Fees

How much does Shams vs SPC Free Zone cost?

Shams' Standard one-visa package is AED 11,743, or about AED 19,775 once the immigration card, e-channel registration, visa and Emirates ID are added. SPC's one-visa package starts at AED 8,475. A zero-visa option costs AED 5,750 in both zones, with different inclusions. VAT and SPC renewal fees are not published, so rely on a written quote.

Figures come only from each authority's own pages and load live from our fee database with source links.

Shams (Sharjah Media City): published fees
FeeAEDCharged bySource
Freelancer Package, One Visa, 1 year15,415Authorityshams.ae
All Inclusive Visa Package, 1 visa14,786Authorityshams.ae
Standard Package, 1 visa, 1 year11,743Authorityshams.ae
Standard Package, 0 visas, 1 year – 3 activities8,050Authorityshams.ae
Freelancer Package, Zero Visa with Lease, 1 year7,745Authorityshams.ae
Shams Trader Package (zero visa), 1 year – General Trading and E-commerce6,500Authorityshams.ae
Media Package (no visa), 1 year – 3 Media and E-commerce activities5,750Authorityshams.ae
E-channel registration2,735Governmentshams.ae
Immigration card (3 year)1,575Governmentshams.ae

Figures from the authority’s own fee page, last checked 3 November 2026. Some exclude VAT. This is not the whole cost: visas, office, our fee and any approvals are separate. Lines older than 90 days drop off until re-checked.

Shams' packages page lists the Standard one-visa package at AED 11,743 in its price table and AED 19,775 in its summary table. The two reconcile: AED 11,743 is the package, and adding the AED 1,575 immigration card, AED 2,735 e-channel registration, AED 3,360 two-year visa and AED 371 Emirates ID gives AED 19,784, within AED 9 of the summary. The Freelancer one-visa package works the same way: AED 15,415 in the fee breakdown, AED 15,786 with the Emirates ID. VAT treatment is not stated.

SPC Free Zone: published fees
FeeAEDCharged bySource
One Visa Package (starting from)8,475Authorityspcfz.ae
1 year license with 0 visa (starting from)5,750Authorityspcfz.ae
E-Channel Registration2,280Governmentspcfz.ae
Additional shareholder (beyond 7)1,000Authorityspcfz.ae
Establishment Card640Governmentspcfz.ae

Figures from the authority’s own fee page, last checked 17 October 2026. Some exclude VAT. This is not the whole cost: visas, office, our fee and any approvals are separate. Lines older than 90 days drop off until re-checked.

SPC's headline figures are 'starting from'. Its one-visa package appears at AED 8,475 on one SPC page and at a higher figure on another. Renewal fees are not published and VAT treatment is not stated.

Because both zones publish conflicting figures in places, our quote states which page and date each authority fee comes from, and shows government fees separately from Aizaa's fee. For a first estimate, try the cost calculator.

Fit

What decides whether Shams or SPC Free Zone fits your business?

Mostly your activities and visa plan: Shams suits media, content and creative work, and founders who want to fix costs with licence terms up to ten years. SPC suits several unrelated activities, with five activity groups, and many shareholders, up to 100 on one licence. If most clients are on Dubai's mainland, a Sharjah free zone may not fit.

Neither zone suits every business. Match the zone to your activities and visa plan.

  • Media, content or creative work: Shams is built around media activities and its Media and Freelancer packages include them. SPC also covers media and marketing activities within its five groups.
  • Several unrelated activities on one licence: SPC's five activity groups give more room than Shams' two- or three-activity packages.
  • A freelancer with one visa: Shams' Freelancer package includes one visa but needs a media activity. If you have no media activity, compare Shams' Standard package or SPC. See freelance licence.
  • You want to fix your costs for several years: Shams publishes licence terms up to ten years with multi-year discounts. SPC does not publish renewal fees.
  • Many shareholders: SPC allows up to 100 shareholders on one licence, with a charge beyond seven. Check the Shams package you choose allows more than one.
  • Most of your clients are in Dubai's mainland: a Sharjah free zone may not be the right base. Read mainland vs free zone.

Shared rules

What do Shams and SPC Free Zone have in common?

Both are Sharjah free zones that started in 2017 and offer full foreign ownership. Their companies trade freely inside the zone and abroad, but mainland sales need a licensed mainland distributor, branch or company, or approvals. Corporate tax is 0% up to AED 375,000 and 9% above, with 0% on qualifying income for a Qualifying Free Zone Person.

Both are Sharjah free zones offering full foreign ownership, and both started in 2017. Like every free zone company, a Shams or SPC company trades freely inside its zone and abroad, but the UAE mainland is regulated. The UAE Government portal says sales to the mainland go through a licensed mainland distributor, a mainland branch or company, or the required approvals.

Dubai's 2025 resolution letting DET license free zone companies to work in Dubai applies to free zone establishments in Dubai. It does not change the position of a Sharjah free zone company. To operate in Dubai's mainland you would need the relevant Dubai licence or approval.

Corporate tax basics. UAE corporate tax is 0% on taxable income up to AED 375,000 and 9% above. A free zone company that meets the Qualifying Free Zone Person conditions, including adequate substance, can apply 0% to qualifying income; other taxable income is taxed at 9%. Take tax advice on your own income.

Next step

How does Aizaa help you choose between Shams and SPC?

Aizaa starts with a free 30-minute call on your activities, visas and where your clients are, then gives a fixed, written, itemised quote before anything starts, with government fees shown separately from its fee. One named person handles your file from licence to visas. Aizaa cannot guarantee bank accounts or visas: banks and authorities decide.

  1. A free 30-minute call on your activities, visas and where your clients are.
  2. A fixed, written, itemised quote before anything starts, with government fees shown separately from our fee.
  3. One named person on your file from licence to visas.

What we will not promise: banks decide on accounts and the authorities decide on visas. We cannot guarantee either. See bank account opening for what banks usually ask.

Questions

Shams vs SPC Free Zone: common questions

Anything else? Ask on WhatsApp and the person who handles it will answer.

WhatsApp us

Is Shams or SPC Free Zone cheaper?

Both publish a zero-visa licence from AED 5,750, but they include different things. At Shams that is the Media package, with three media and e-commerce activities. At SPC it is a starting price for a one-year licence with up to five activity groups. The total depends on your activities, visas and office, so compare two itemised quotes.

How many visas can I get with Shams?

Shams' Standard package runs from zero to six visas, its Visa for Life package from one to six, and the Freelancer package lists one visa. Visa allocation is AED 1,600 and a two-year employment or investor visa is AED 3,360, plus company-level immigration card and e-channel registration. Choose the package with the visa count you need from the start.

What does SPC Free Zone mean by pay-as-you-go?

SPC lets you buy the licence first and add visas and other services later, without extra amendment fees, according to its pay-as-you-go page. The licence includes up to five activity groups from 2,000+ activities. Visa allocation, the investor visa, medical test and establishment card are priced separately and paid when you need them.

Do I need a media activity for a Shams licence?

Only on some packages. The Shams Freelancer package requires one media activity among its three. The Media package covers media and e-commerce activities, the Shams Trader package covers general trading and e-commerce, and the Standard package covers three activities such as trading, services or consultancy. Check the package against your activity list before applying.

Can a Shams or SPC company work in Dubai?

A Sharjah free zone company can serve clients abroad and inside its zone. Selling into the UAE mainland, including Dubai, normally goes through a licensed mainland distributor, a mainland branch or company, or the required approvals. Dubai's 2025 resolution for free zone companies covers Dubai free zones, not Sharjah ones.

Is SPC Free Zone only for publishers?

No. SPC calls itself the world's first publishing free zone, but says its activities are not limited to publishing. It lists categories such as general trading, professional services, IT services, e-commerce, administrative and marketing services, from more than 2,000 activities. Regulated activities can still need approval from another authority.

Sources

Where these facts come from

The official pages we checked. Rules and fees change; we confirm the current position before we advise you.

  1. Shams packages, activities, visa counts, licence terms, multi-year discounts, visa and company-level fees — Sharjah Media City (Shams): shams.aeChecked 3 November 2026
  2. Shams set up by Amiri decree in 2017, Al Messaned area, workspaces and facilities — Sharjah Media City (Shams): shams.aeChecked 3 November 2026
  3. SPC pay-as-you-go licence, five activities from 2,000+, 100 shareholders, FZE/FZC-LLC/branch, visas, established 2017, not limited to publishing — SPC Free Zone: spcfz.aeChecked 3 November 2026
  4. SPC address, E311 Sheikh Mohammed Bin Zayed Road, Al Zahia — SPC Free Zone: spcfz.aeChecked 3 November 2026
  5. SPC five activity groups at no additional cost, office, coworking and virtual office options — SPC Free Zone: spcfz.aeChecked 3 November 2026
  6. SPC additional shareholder charge beyond seven — SPC Free Zone: spcfz.aeChecked 3 November 2026
  7. SPC one-visa package starting price — SPC Free Zone: spcfz.aeChecked 3 November 2026
  8. Free zone companies: mainland access through a licensed distributor, a mainland branch or company, or the required approvals — u.ae (UAE Government portal): u.aeChecked 3 November 2026
  9. Executive Council Resolution No. 11 of 2025: DET may license Dubai free zone establishments to operate in Dubai outside the zone — Dubai Media Office: mediaoffice.aeChecked 3 November 2026
  10. Corporate tax: 0% up to AED 375,000 of taxable income, 9% above; applies from financial years starting on or after 1 June 2023 — u.ae (UAE Government portal): u.aeChecked 3 November 2026
  11. Qualifying Free Zone Persons: 0% on qualifying income, 9% on other taxable income, substance conditions — Federal Decree-Law No. 47 of 2022, Articles 3 and 18, Ministry of Finance: mof.gov.aeChecked 3 November 2026

Free, 30 minutes, no obligation

Get your free setup plan

A 30-minute call with the person who handles setups. You leave with a recommended jurisdiction, a timeline and a written, itemised quote.

Auj Afreen Ahmad, Founder and CEO of AizaaTabish Ahmed, Senior Manager at Aizaa

You will speak with our team, led by Auj Afreen Ahmad and Tabish Ahmed.

Book your free consultation

Under a minute. Choose a preferred day and time, and the person who handles your topic confirms it within one working day.

What is it about?

Your request reaches our office and opens in WhatsApp, ready to send.

Want this worked out for your business?

Free call, written recommendation, fixed quote. No obligation.