AIZAAManagement Consultancy

Activity licence

Freelance License Dubai: who issues freelance permits and what each one allows

A freelance licence is the permission to work in your own name. The residence visa is a separate step, covered on our freelance visa page. This page is about choosing the licence.

  • Since 2015Working from Deira
  • Fixed quoteWritten and itemised before we start
  • SeparateGovernment fees shown apart from our fee
  • 30 minutesFree first call

The short answer

Freelance License Dubai: who issues freelance permits and what does each allow?

A freelance licence, often called a freelance permit, lets you work in your own name rather than through a company. In Dubai the main issuers are free zones: the Dubai Development Authority's GoFreelance, DMCC's FreelanceUAE and Dubai Airport Free Zone's Talent Pass. Their basic licence lines exclude the residence visa, which is a separate step.

Start here

Is a freelance licence the same as a freelance visa?

No. The freelance licence or permit lets you work and invoice clients legally, while the residence visa lets you live in the UAE. Basic freelance licence lines in Dubai are priced without a visa, and the visa is then linked to the licence: Dubai Media City says a GoFreelance visa follows the validity of your licence and establishment card.

People search for both, but they are separate approvals. The licence or permit is what lets you work and invoice clients legally. The residence visa is what lets you live in the UAE. The basic freelance licence lines in Dubai are priced without a visa, and the visa is then linked to the licence: Dubai Media City says a GoFreelance visa is linked to the validity of your freelance licence and establishment card.

Looking for the residence side? Read our freelance visa UAE page. This page covers the licence only.

The options

Who issues freelance permits in Dubai, and what do they cost?

Three Dubai free zones publish freelance licence lines: the Dubai Development Authority's GoFreelance at AED 7,520 excluding visa, DMCC's FreelanceUAE Package 1 at AED 4,020 for one year, licence only, and Dubai Airport Free Zone's Talent Pass at AED 7,500, licence only. Visas, establishment cards, medical insurance and Emirates ID are extra.

Freelance licences issued in Dubai, published licence lines (authority websites)

Freelance licences issued in Dubai, published licence lines (authority websites)
FactorGoFreelance (DDA)FreelanceUAE (DMCC)Talent Pass (DAFZ)
Issued byDubai Development Authority, in Dubai Media City, Internet City, Knowledge Park and d3Dubai Multi Commodities CentreDubai Airport Free Zone
Published licence lineGoFreelance package AED 7,520, excluding visaPackage 1: AED 4,020, licence only, 1 yearAED 7,500, licence only
FieldsTech, media, education and designCreative and independent work, per DMCC's examplesArts, culture, education, media, marketing, consultancy, technology and others
Name on licenceYour name as on your passportNot stated in the fee scheduleYour name as on your passport
StaffCannot hire or sponsor staffNot statedCannot hire or sponsor employees
RenewalAnnualRenewal tiers publishedAnnual

These are licence lines only. Visas, establishment cards, medical insurance and Emirates ID are extra or sold in other tiers. We itemise the full first-year cost before you choose.

Dubai Development Authority

What does GoFreelance cost in Dubai Media City, Internet City, Knowledge Park and d3?

The GoFreelance package costs AED 7,520, excluding the visa. An establishment card costs AED 2,000, and the visa is AED 4,600 for one year or AED 5,042 for two years, subject to change. It covers tech, media, education and design, is issued in your passport name, and does not let you hire or sponsor staff. Fees are non-refundable.

GoFreelance is the Dubai Development Authority's freelance package, offered through its clusters. Dubai Media City says it currently covers tech, media, education and design activities, and lists roles such as actor, editor, journalist and photographer. The licence is issued only in your name as it appears on your passport.

  • Licence: GoFreelance package AED 7,520, excluding the visa. The DDA fee schedule prices the freelancer permit at AED 7,500 a year.
  • Establishment card: AED 2,000, required before an employment visa.
  • Visa: one year AED 4,600 or two years AED 5,042, which Dubai Media City says are subject to change. It also asks for valid medical insurance and a UAE phone number.
  • Limits: you cannot hire or sponsor staff, and you work under your own name, not a brand. You may work for a company as an independent contractor from its free zone premises.
  • Fees: all GoFreelance application fees are non-refundable.
Dubai Media City: published fees, including the freelance lines
FeeAEDCharged bySource
Advertising & Communication segment (annual)20,000Authoritydda.gov.ae
Media & Marketing Services / New Media / Event Management etc. (annual)15,000Authoritydda.gov.ae
Additional Segment annual licence fee10,000Authoritydda.gov.ae
GoFreelance freelance package7,520Authoritydmc.ae
Freelancers permit7,500Authoritydda.gov.ae
Registration Fees (FZ-LLC)3,500Authoritydda.gov.ae
Establishment Card (freelancer)2,000Governmentdmc.ae

Figures from the authority’s own fee page, last checked 17 October 2026. Some exclude VAT. This is not the whole cost: visas, office, our fee and any approvals are separate. Lines older than 90 days drop off until re-checked.

Other Dubai issuers

How do DMCC FreelanceUAE and the DAFZ Talent Pass compare?

DMCC FreelanceUAE Package 1 costs AED 4,020 for the licence only, valid for one year, while the Dubai Airport Free Zone Talent Pass costs AED 7,500, licence only. DMCC's higher tiers add a visa and establishment card. Talent Pass holders obtain the residency visa separately, cannot hire or sponsor employees, and renew the licence annually.

DMCC FreelanceUAE is described by DMCC as a permit to work legally and independently, for creatives such as makeup artists, game developers, graphic designers and dancers. DMCC's schedule of charges lists Package 1 at AED 4,020, which includes only the FreelanceUAE licence, valid for one year. DMCC's freelance guide describes higher tiers that add a visa and establishment card; we quote them from the current schedule.

Dubai Airport Free Zone Talent Pass is a licence issued in your own name for freelancers in arts, culture, education, media, marketing, consultancy, technology and other listed fields. DAFZ says the AED 7,500 fee is for the licence only, that holders must obtain the residency visa separately, that you cannot hire or sponsor employees, and that the licence renews annually. DAFZ adds that the Talent Pass does not restrict who you work with, though clients' own procurement policies may apply.

Dubai Airport Free Zone: published Talent Pass fee
FeeAEDCharged bySource
Talent Pass license7,500Authoritydafz.ae

Figures from the authority’s own fee page, last checked 17 October 2026. Some exclude VAT. This is not the whole cost: visas, office, our fee and any approvals are separate. Lines older than 90 days drop off until re-checked.

Other emirates

What freelancer packages do Shams, Ajman Media City and Abu Dhabi offer?

Three are published: the Shams Freelancer Package at AED 7,745 for one year with zero visa, Ajman Media City's Freedom Package at AED 12,121 with one visa, and Abu Dhabi's mainland Freelancer Licence at a basic AED 1,200 including six activities, for sole proprietorships only. Each licence is issued by its own emirate, and its visa follows that licence.

Freelancer packages outside Dubai: Shams, Ajman Media City and Abu Dhabi
PackageFeeActivities and inclusionsNotes
Shams Freelancer PackageZero visa with lease: AED 7,745 for one year. One visa: AED 15,415 in Shams' fee breakdownThree activities that can mix trading, services and consultancy; one media activity mandatoryShams' summary table shows a different one-visa total, so we confirm the current figure with Shams. Multiple shareholders allowed, so it works more like a small company licence than a permit in your own name
Ajman Media City Freedom PackageAED 12,121 with one visaOne listing on its site adds a choice of over 120 freelance activities and co-working space with a lease agreementA second listing under the same name shows different inclusions, so we confirm the terms with the free zone
Abu Dhabi mainland Freelancer LicenceAED 1,200 basic cost, listed by Abu Dhabi Registration AuthoritySix activities includedSole proprietorships only

A licence from another emirate is issued by that emirate's authority, and its visa follows that licence. Compare two Sharjah options in Shams vs SPC.

Shams: published authority and government fees
FeeAEDCharged bySource
Freelancer Package, One Visa, 1 year15,415Authorityshams.ae
All Inclusive Visa Package, 1 visa14,786Authorityshams.ae
Standard Package, 1 visa, 1 year11,743Authorityshams.ae
Standard Package, 0 visas, 1 year – 3 activities8,050Authorityshams.ae
Freelancer Package, Zero Visa with Lease, 1 year7,745Authorityshams.ae
Shams Trader Package (zero visa), 1 year – General Trading and E-commerce6,500Authorityshams.ae
Media Package (no visa), 1 year – 3 Media and E-commerce activities5,750Authorityshams.ae
E-channel registration2,735Governmentshams.ae
Immigration card (3 year)1,575Governmentshams.ae

Figures from the authority’s own fee page, last checked 3 November 2026. Some exclude VAT. This is not the whole cost: visas, office, our fee and any approvals are separate. Lines older than 90 days drop off until re-checked.

Mainland

Is there a Dubai mainland freelance licence?

Not as such: the closest is DET's e-Trader licence, described by DET as a licence for freelancers at their place of residence in Dubai, aimed at home-based individuals selling through social media and online platforms. It is issued only as a sole establishment, to applicants aged 21 and above, and the licensee cannot open a shop.

The closest is DET's e-Trader licence. DET describes it as a licence for freelancers at their place of residence in Dubai, aimed at home-based individuals selling through social media and online platforms. It is issued only as a sole establishment, DET's guide lists applicants aged 21 and above, and the licensee cannot open a shop.

For non-GCC nationals, DET's guide says a sole establishment may hold professional activities only, with a UAE local service agent. Check your activity with DET before relying on this route. More detail is on our e-commerce licence page.

Honest limits

When is a freelance permit the wrong choice?

A freelance permit is the wrong choice if you want to hire, trade under a brand, sell goods, have partners or post sponsored content. GoFreelance and the Talent Pass do not allow hiring or sponsoring staff and are issued in your passport name. Goods need a trading activity, partners suit a company licence, and sponsored content needs an advertiser permit.

  • You want to hire. GoFreelance and the Talent Pass do not allow you to hire or sponsor staff.
  • You want a brand. Both are issued in your passport name, not a trade name.
  • You sell goods. You need a trading activity; see general trading licence.
  • You have partners. A company licence is the cleaner structure; see professional licence Dubai.
  • You post sponsored content. A freelance licence does not replace the advertiser permit; see influencer licence UAE.
What we will not promise. Licences, visas and bank accounts are approved by the authorities and banks. We commit to a complete, correct application, and to telling you when a freelance permit is not the right tool.

Questions

Freelance License Dubai: common questions

Anything else? Ask on WhatsApp and the person who handles it will answer.

WhatsApp us

What is the difference between a freelance licence and a freelance visa?

The licence, or permit, is your legal right to work and invoice as a freelancer. The visa is your right to live in the UAE. They are separate approvals, often bought separately: GoFreelance, FreelanceUAE Package 1 and the Talent Pass are licence-only lines. Our freelance visa page covers the residence side.

How much is a freelance licence in Dubai?

Published licence lines include DMCC's FreelanceUAE Package 1 at AED 4,020 for one year, Dubai Airport Free Zone's Talent Pass at AED 7,500, and the Dubai Development Authority's GoFreelance package at AED 7,520. All three exclude the visa. Establishment card, visa, medical and Emirates ID costs come on top, and we itemise them in your quote.

Can I hire employees on a freelance permit in Dubai?

Not on the main Dubai permits. Dubai Media City says a GoFreelance licence does not allow you to hire or sponsor staff, and Dubai Airport Free Zone says the same for the Talent Pass. If you expect to hire, a small company licence is the right starting point, even if you begin alone.

Can I use a business name on a freelance licence?

Not on GoFreelance or the Talent Pass. Both are issued in your name as it appears on your passport. If a trade name matters to you, for branding or for clients who will only contract with a company, look at a company licence instead. Some packages marketed to freelancers, such as Shams' Freelancer Package, allow multiple shareholders.

Which activities can I do on a Dubai freelance permit?

It depends on the issuer. Dubai Media City says GoFreelance covers tech, media, education and design activities. Dubai Airport Free Zone lists arts, culture, education, media, marketing, consultancy and technology for the Talent Pass. DMCC gives creative examples such as designers and game developers. Each publishes its own activity list, which we check against your work.

Is the e-Trader licence a freelance licence?

In a sense. DET describes the e-Trader licence as licensing freelancers at their place of residence in Dubai. It is a mainland licence issued only as a sole establishment, aimed at home-based selling through social media and online platforms. For non-GCC nationals, DET's guide limits sole establishments to professional activities with a local service agent, so check eligibility first.

Sources

Where these facts come from

The official pages we checked. Rules and fees change; we confirm the current position before we advise you.

  1. GoFreelance activities, name on licence, no staff, fees, visa and establishment card, renewal — Dubai Media City: dmc.aeChecked 3 November 2026
  2. DDA freelance licence for independent professionals — Dubai Development Authority: dda.gov.aeChecked 3 November 2026
  3. Freelancer permit AED 7,500 a year — Dubai Development Authority fee schedule: dda.gov.aeChecked 3 November 2026
  4. FreelanceUAE Package 1 AED 4,020, licence only — DMCC schedule of charges: dmcc.aeChecked 3 November 2026
  5. FreelanceUAE permit description and examples; higher tiers that add a visa and establishment card — DMCC: dmcc.aeChecked 3 November 2026
  6. Talent Pass scope, fee, no visa, no employees, renewal — Dubai Airport Free Zone: dafz.aeChecked 3 November 2026
  7. Shams Freelancer Package activities, shareholders and fees — Sharjah Media City (Shams): shams.aeChecked 3 November 2026
  8. Freedom Package — Ajman Media City Free Zone: ajmanmediacity.amc.gov.aeChecked 3 November 2026
  9. Freelancer Licence, sole proprietorship only — Abu Dhabi Registration Authority: adra.gov.aeChecked 3 November 2026
  10. e-Trader licence for freelancers at their residence; eligibility 21+; non-GCC sole establishment rules — DET Al Wajeez guide: dubaitourism.getbynder.comChecked 3 November 2026
  11. e-Trader licensee cannot open a shop — Dubai Media Office: mediaoffice.aeChecked 3 November 2026

Free, 30 minutes, no obligation

Get your free setup plan

A 30-minute call with the person who handles setups. You leave with a recommended jurisdiction, a timeline and a written, itemised quote.

Auj Afreen Ahmad, Founder and CEO of AizaaTabish Ahmed, Senior Manager at Aizaa

You will speak with our team, led by Auj Afreen Ahmad and Tabish Ahmed.

Book your free consultation

Under a minute. Choose a preferred day and time, and the person who handles your topic confirms it within one working day.

What is it about?

Your request reaches our office and opens in WhatsApp, ready to send.

Want this worked out for your business?

Free call, written recommendation, fixed quote. No obligation.