Free zone comparison
DMCC vs IFZA: licence, visas and cost compared
DMCC publishes a full schedule of charges and runs its own towers in JLT. IFZA publishes no prices and sells through partners. Here is how they compare on the facts.
- 2002Year DMCC was established
- 0AED prices published by IFZA
- Since 2015Working from Deira
- ItemisedWritten quote before anything starts
The short answer
DMCC vs IFZA: what is the difference in licence, visas and cost?
DMCC and IFZA are both Dubai free zones with 100% foreign ownership. DMCC, a Government of Dubai authority in Jumeirah Lakes Towers, publishes a detailed schedule of charges and offers trading, general trading, industrial and freelance licences. IFZA, based in Dubai Silicon Oasis, publishes no prices and issues a tailored proposal through partners.
Side by side
DMCC vs IFZA: how do the two free zones compare side by side?
DMCC publishes a full schedule of charges and per-visa fees, while IFZA publishes no fees or visa prices and quotes on request through a proposal. DMCC, established 2002, sits in Jumeirah Lakes Towers and Uptown Dubai with offices across 87 towers. IFZA operates from IFZA Business Park in Dubai Silicon Oasis.
Taken from each zone's own website, checked in November 2026. Where something is not published, the table says so.
DMCC and IFZA compared on published facts
| Factor | DMCC | IFZA |
|---|---|---|
| Licensing authority | Dubai Multi Commodities Centre (DMCC), a Government of Dubai authority, established 2002 | IFZA (International Free Zone Authority), based in Dubai Silicon Oasis |
| Location | Jumeirah Lakes Towers (JLT) and Uptown Dubai | IFZA Business Park, Dubai Silicon Oasis |
| Company structures | Individual, subsidiary and branch formations; also family offices, SPVs and holding companies, and foundations | FZCO; branch of a foreign company |
| Licence types | Standard trading and service, general trading, industrial, business centre and FreelanceUAE | Commercial and professional; both can be combined on one licence |
| Activities per licence | Up to six activities sharing the first two digits of their code; further activities, other groups and other licence types carry extra annual fees; some activities must stand alone | Up to three activity groups in the standard fee; further activities charged |
| Office options | Business Centre flexi-desk, serviced desk, serviced office and co-working; fitted or shell-and-core offices across 87 towers | Flexidesk, Flexidesk+, dedicated, private and personalised offices at IFZA Business Park |
| Visa rules published | Per-visa fees by validity and by whether the applicant is inside or outside the UAE, with volume discounts at 50+, 100+ and 200+ visas; a quota-increase service is listed | No visa quota or visa prices published |
| Fees published | Full schedule of charges, subject to change without notice | None; quoted on request through a proposal |
Licences
DMCC vs IFZA: what licence types and activity rules apply?
DMCC allows up to six activities sharing the first two digits of their code on a standard licence, with extra annual fees beyond that, while IFZA includes up to three activity groups in its standard fee. DMCC also offers general trading, industrial, business centre and FreelanceUAE licences. IFZA licences are commercial or professional, and both can be combined.
DMCC builds its licences around activity codes. IFZA keeps it simpler on paper.
| Factor | DMCC | IFZA |
|---|---|---|
| Licence types | Standard, general trading, industrial (priced by floor area), business centre, and FreelanceUAE for individuals | Commercial or professional |
| Activities per licence | Standard licence: up to six activities that share the first two digits of their code | Up to three activity groups inside the standard fee |
| Extra activities | Further activities beyond six, activities from a different division or group, and a different licence type each carry their own annual fee | Not stated |
| Mixing activities | Some activities, such as single-family offices and real estate, cannot be combined with anything else | Commercial and professional activities can be mixed on one licence |
| General trading | Covers all activities except oil and gas and regulated activities that need third-party approval | Not stated |
| Regulated activities | Not stated | Classed as non-regulated or regulated; regulated ones need approval from a Dubai or federal authority, which the licensee obtains |
| Formation | Through the DMCC online portal; DMCC says it typically takes around ten working days once documents and approvals are complete | Not stated |
Get the activity code right first. In DMCC the code decides how many activities fit on one licence and what an extra one costs. In IFZA it decides whether you need an outside approval. We map your activities before you apply. See our general trading licence guide if you plan to trade in many product lines.
Premises and visas
DMCC vs IFZA: which office options are offered and how many visas do they allow?
DMCC lists options from a flexi-desk to serviced, fitted and shell-and-core offices across JLT and Uptown Dubai, while IFZA offers Flexidesk, Flexidesk+, dedicated, private and personalised offices in Dubai Silicon Oasis. IFZA does not publish how many visas each option supports, so ask both zones how many residence visas an option allows today and on renewal.
| Factor | DMCC | IFZA |
|---|---|---|
| Property | Owns and manages a large property portfolio | Options sit in IFZA Business Park in Dubai Silicon Oasis |
| Office options | Business Centre options from a flexi-desk to serviced offices, plus fitted and shell-and-core offices and retail space across JLT and Uptown Dubai | Flexidesk with ten hours of access a week, Flexidesk+ with a dedicated desk, and dedicated, private and personalised offices |
| Visas per office option | Not stated | Not published; set out in the proposal |
| Before employee visas | An active licence and establishment card are needed | Not stated |
| Increasing the quota | A separate service to increase the visa quota is listed | Not stated |
- Ask both zones the same question: how many residence visas does this office option allow, today and on renewal?
- Plan for growth: ask what office upgrade, if any, you would need to add visas later, and what it costs.
- Investor route: owning the company may open a residence route for you. See investor visa.
Fees
How much does DMCC cost compared with IFZA?
DMCC publishes its fees: the standard trading and service licence is AED 20,285, one-time registration is AED 9,020 and a Business Centre flexi-desk is from AED 16,000, subject to change without notice. IFZA publishes no AED prices; its licence, visa and office costs are quoted on request. A fair comparison needs an IFZA proposal for the same set-up.
Only figures the authority publishes. Each table loads live from our fee database with a link to the source page.
| Fee | AED | Charged by | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| General Trading licence | 50,265 | Authority | dmcc.ae |
| Flexi Boost package (1 year) | 43,720 | Authority | dmcc.ae |
| Basic Flexi Package | 35,564 | Authority | dmcc.ae |
| Licence (standard Trading & Service) | 20,285 | Authority | dmcc.ae |
| Flexi-Desk (DMCC Business Centre) | 16,000 | Authority | dmcc.ae |
| Registration (new company, standard activities) | 9,020 | Authority | dmcc.ae |
| Industrial licence 50-100 sq m (1-2 units) | 8,265 | Authority | dmcc.ae |
| FreelanceUAE Package 1 (1-year licence) | 4,020 | Authority | dmcc.ae |
| Articles of Association (AoA) preparation | 2,020 | Authority | dmcc.ae |
| Issue company Establishment Card | 1,805 | Government | dmcc.ae |
| Application (company setup) | 1,035 | Authority | dmcc.ae |
Figures from the authority’s own fee page, last checked 17 October 2026. Some exclude VAT. This is not the whole cost: visas, office, our fee and any approvals are separate. Lines older than 90 days drop off until re-checked.
DMCC's schedule lists the standard trading and service licence at AED 20,285, one-time registration at AED 9,020 and a Business Centre flexi-desk from AED 16,000. DMCC notes that charges are subject to the Knowledge and Innovation Dirham, that some packages are shown inclusive of VAT, and that fees can change without notice.
IFZA: no authority prices published (quoted on request). IFZA does not publish these fees on its website, or we have not yet verified them. We quote them in writing, itemised, before you commit.
IFZA publishes no AED prices on its website. Its licence, visa and office costs are not published; they are quoted on request in a proposal. We do not estimate them.
A real comparison needs an IFZA proposal for the same activities, visas and office you would take in DMCC. Our written quote shows authority and government fees separately from Aizaa's fee, so the two can be compared line by line. Start with the cost calculator or business setup cost in Dubai.
Fit
DMCC vs IFZA: which free zone suits which kind of founder?
It depends mostly on your activity, visa plan and premises budget: DMCC suits commodities and specialist trading, family offices, SPVs, holding structures and businesses needing retail or large offices. IFZA suits consultancy, agency or mixed service businesses with a small team, using its three activity groups and combined commercial and professional licence. DMCC publishes every fee in writing.
These are patterns, not a verdict. The right zone depends on your activity, your visa plan and how much you want to spend on premises.
- Commodities and specialist trading: DMCC runs sector ecosystems such as diamonds, gold, coffee and tea, and its general trading licence covers a wide product range. If your business sits in one of those sectors, DMCC is worth pricing first.
- You want every fee in writing before you engage: DMCC publishes its schedule of charges. IFZA quotes on request.
- Consultancy, agency or mixed service business with a small team: IFZA's three activity groups and combined commercial and professional licence suit that shape. Compare the IFZA proposal with DMCC's published standard licence.
- You need warehouse, retail or a large office: DMCC lists retail and core-and-shell offices across JLT and Uptown Dubai. IFZA's published options are desks and offices in IFZA Business Park.
- Family office, SPV or holding structure: DMCC lists dedicated routes for these. IFZA does not publish an equivalent; ask before choosing.
- Freelancer on your own: DMCC offers FreelanceUAE. Also read our freelance licence guide, which covers other zones.
Also comparing Meydan? See IFZA vs Meydan.
Shared rules
What do DMCC and IFZA have in common?
Both are Dubai free zones offering 100% foreign ownership, where a company trades freely inside the zone and abroad while mainland sales are regulated. Since Executive Council Resolution No. 11 of 2025, DET may license a Dubai free zone company to operate outside its zone. Both fall under UAE corporate tax: 0% up to AED 375,000 and 9% above.
Both are Dubai free zones offering 100% foreign ownership. Inside the zone and abroad, a free zone company trades freely; the UAE mainland is regulated. The UAE Government portal says a free zone company sells locally through a licensed mainland distributor, a mainland branch or company, or with the required approvals.
Since Dubai's Executive Council Resolution No. 11 of 2025, DET may license a Dubai free zone company to operate in Dubai outside its zone, through a branch licence or a permit for specific activities, with separate records for the mainland work. DMCC's schedule lists a dual licence office permit. Eligibility depends on the activity, so confirm it before relying on mainland sales.
Corporate tax basics. UAE corporate tax is 0% on taxable income up to AED 375,000 and 9% above that. A Qualifying Free Zone Person that meets the conditions, including adequate substance, applies 0% to qualifying income; other taxable income is taxed at 9%. DMCC states it is a qualified free zone for corporate tax purposes. Check your own position with a tax adviser.
Next step
How does Aizaa help you choose between DMCC and IFZA?
Aizaa starts with a free 30-minute call on your activities, visas and premises, then gives a fixed, written, itemised quote with government fees shown separately from its own fee. One named person handles your file through licence, establishment card and visas, and a bank file is prepared with you. Aizaa cannot guarantee bank accounts or visas.
- A free 30-minute call on your activities, visas and premises.
- A fixed, written, itemised quote before anything starts, with government fees shown separately from our fee.
- One named person on your file through licence, establishment card and visas.
- A bank file prepared with you; see bank account opening.
What we will not promise: banks decide on accounts and the authorities decide on visas. Aizaa cannot guarantee either, whichever zone you choose.
Questions
DMCC vs IFZA: common questions
Anything else? Ask on WhatsApp and the person who handles it will answer.
Is DMCC more expensive than IFZA?
We cannot compare them on price from published figures, because IFZA publishes none. DMCC's schedule lists the standard trading and service licence at AED 20,285 and registration at AED 9,020, before office and visas. IFZA quotes on request. Ask for an IFZA proposal for the same activities, office and visas, then compare the two line by line.
How many activities can I have on a DMCC licence?
A standard DMCC licence covers up to six activities that share the same first two digits of their activity code. Further activities beyond six, and activities from a different division or group, carry extra annual fees, and a different licence type costs more again. Some activities, such as single-family offices and real estate, must stand alone on their own licence.
Where are DMCC and IFZA located?
DMCC is in Jumeirah Lakes Towers (JLT) and Uptown Dubai, where it manages 87 residential and commercial towers. IFZA is based at IFZA Business Park, Building A2, in Dubai Silicon Oasis. Both are in the emirate of Dubai, so both fall under Dubai's rules on free zone companies operating outside their zone.
Does IFZA publish its fees?
No. IFZA's website shows no AED prices. Its process starts with a consultation, followed by a tailored proposal setting out the licence type, activities, visa package and office. IFZA works through a network of Professional Partners. Treat any IFZA figure you see elsewhere as a quote, and check the date and what it includes.
Can a DMCC or IFZA company trade on the Dubai mainland?
Not by default. A free zone company normally reaches mainland customers through a licensed distributor, a mainland branch or company, or with mainland approvals. Since Resolution No. 11 of 2025, DET may license a Dubai free zone company to operate outside its zone through a branch licence or activity permit. DMCC lists a dual licence office permit.
How long does DMCC company setup take?
DMCC says the process typically takes around ten working days, depending on documents and approvals, and is completed through its online portal. Visas come after the licence and establishment card; DMCC gives 20 working days or less for a new employee residence visa. Regulated activities can add time for outside approvals.
Is DMCC a qualifying free zone for corporate tax?
DMCC states that it is a qualified free zone for UAE corporate tax purposes. That lets a company that meets the Qualifying Free Zone Person conditions apply 0% to qualifying income, with other taxable income taxed at 9%. Meeting those conditions depends on your income and substance, so take tax advice.
Sources
Where these facts come from
The official pages we checked. Rules and fees change; we confirm the current position before we advise you.
- DMCC schedule of charges: licence types, activity rules, Business Centre and office options, visa fees and volume discounts, dual licence office permit, Knowledge and Innovation Dirham — DMCC: dmcc.aeChecked 3 November 2026
- DMCC company formation types, online portal, around ten working days, JLT and Uptown Dubai, 87 towers, qualified free zone statement — DMCC: dmcc.aeChecked 3 November 2026
- DMCC established 2002, Government of Dubai authority, JLT and Uptown Dubai — DMCC: dmcc.aeChecked 3 November 2026
- DMCC new employee residence visa: eligibility and 20 working days or less — DMCC: dmcc.aeChecked 3 November 2026
- IFZA licence options, branch, consultation and proposal process, address — IFZA: ifza.comChecked 3 November 2026
- IFZA Professional Partner network and FZCO licences — IFZA: ifza.comChecked 3 November 2026
- IFZA: three activity groups, cross licensing, regulated activities — IFZA: ifza.comChecked 3 November 2026
- IFZA office options at IFZA Business Park — IFZA: ifza.comChecked 3 November 2026
- Free zone companies: mainland access through a licensed distributor, a mainland branch or company, or the required approvals — u.ae (UAE Government portal): u.aeChecked 3 November 2026
- Executive Council Resolution No. 11 of 2025: DET may license Dubai free zone establishments to operate in Dubai outside the zone — Dubai Media Office: mediaoffice.aeChecked 3 November 2026
- Executive Council Resolution No. 11 of 2025, full text — Dubai Legislation Portal: dlp.dubai.gov.aeChecked 3 November 2026
- Corporate tax: 0% up to AED 375,000 of taxable income, 9% above; applies from financial years starting on or after 1 June 2023 — u.ae (UAE Government portal): u.aeChecked 3 November 2026
- Qualifying Free Zone Persons: 0% on qualifying income, 9% on other taxable income, substance conditions — Federal Tax Authority: tax.gov.aeChecked 3 November 2026
- IFZA's full name, International Free Zone Authority, and its agreement to operate from Dubai Silicon Oasis — Dubai Media Office: mediaoffice.aeChecked 3 November 2026
Free, 30 minutes, no obligation
Get your free setup plan
A 30-minute call with the person who handles setups. You leave with a recommended jurisdiction, a timeline and a written, itemised quote.
You will speak with our team, led by Auj Afreen Ahmad and Tabish Ahmed.
- WhatsApp, fastest+971 55 786 7621
- Call+971 55 786 7621
- Emailinfo@aizaa.ae
- Office, by appointmentAl Shaikh Building 5, Al Khabaisi, Deira, Dubai
- HoursMonday to Friday, 9:00 to 18:00 GST
Want this worked out for your business?
Free call, written recommendation, fixed quote. No obligation.