Free zone comparison
IFZA vs Meydan Free Zone: licence, visas and cost compared
Two Dubai free zones that both put three activity groups in the base licence and both let you start remotely. The differences are in how they sell, what they publish and how visas are allocated.
- DubaiBoth zones, both under Dubai rules
- 3Activity groups in each base licence
- Since 2015Working from Deira
- ItemisedWritten quote before anything starts
The short answer
IFZA vs Meydan Free Zone: how do licence, visas and cost compare?
IFZA and Meydan Free Zone are both Dubai free zones with 100% foreign ownership and up to three activity groups in the base licence. Meydan publishes its prices, includes a flexi-desk and allows up to six visa allocations per licence. IFZA publishes no prices and works through partners, issuing a tailored proposal after consultation.
Side by side
IFZA vs Meydan: how do the published facts compare side by side?
IFZA sells FZCO licences through its Professional Partners after a consultation and publishes no fees or visa quota, while Meydan Free Zone issues LLC-FZ licences, sells directly online, includes a flexi-desk with every licence and publishes its prices, with up to six visa allocations per licence. Both include up to three activity groups in the base licence.
Each line comes from the zone's own website, checked in November 2026. Where a zone does not publish something, we say so.
IFZA and Meydan Free Zone compared on published facts
| Factor | IFZA | Meydan Free Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Licensing authority | IFZA (International Free Zone Authority), based in Dubai Silicon Oasis | Meydan Free Zone |
| Location | IFZA Business Park, Building A2, Dubai Silicon Oasis, Dubai | Meydan Grandstand, Meydan Road, Nad Al Sheba 1, Dubai |
| Company and licence types | FZCO; commercial licence, professional licence, branch of a foreign company; commercial and professional activities can be combined | LLC-FZ trade licence; Fawri instant licence for one-person companies; non-resident and manufacturing licences |
| Activities in the base licence | Up to three activity groups; each further activity charged | Up to three activity groups from a catalogue of 2,500+ activities; each further activity charged |
| Office options | Flexidesk, Flexidesk+, dedicated, private and personalised offices at IFZA Business Park | Flexi-desk included with every licence; dedicated desk, shared office and dedicated office as upgrades |
| Visa allocation | Not published; set out in the proposal | Up to six visa allocations per licence, each charged separately |
| How you buy | Through IFZA's network of Professional Partners, after a consultation and tailored proposal | Direct online purchase, cost calculator and consultations at Meydan Hotel or online |
| Fees published | None. Every page routes to a request for information | Licence, Fawri, activity, visa allocation and office prices published |
Licences
IFZA vs Meydan: which licence options and activities does each offer?
Both include up to three activity groups in the standard licence fee. IFZA issues commercial and professional FZCO licences and foreign company branches, and its cross licensing combines both activity types. Meydan issues an LLC-FZ trade licence, the Fawri instant licence for one-person companies, and non-resident and manufacturing licences, with extra activities at AED 1,000 each.
Both zones start from the same point: up to three activity groups inside the standard licence fee. That covers most consultants, agencies and small trading businesses without paying for extra activities in year one.
Beyond that, IFZA and Meydan Free Zone differ as follows.
| Factor | IFZA | Meydan |
|---|---|---|
| Licences and company form | Commercial and professional licences through FZCO companies; foreign companies can register a branch | LLC-FZ trade licence; also lists a non-resident licence and a manufacturing licence |
| Instant licence | Not stated | Fawri, which it says is issued in under 60 minutes, for one-person companies where the same person is shareholder, manager, director and beneficial owner |
| Mixing activities | What it calls cross licensing combines commercial and professional activities under one licence | Not stated |
| Regulated activities | Non-regulated (green) and regulated (amber); regulated ones need approval from a Dubai or federal body, and getting it is the licensee's job | Not stated |
| Additional activities | Not stated | AED 1,000 each beyond the three included groups, per Meydan |
Check your exact activity before choosing. A regulated activity can need an outside approval, and some activities carry premises requirements, in either zone. We check the activity list for you before you pay anything. See also our professional licence and e-commerce licence guides.
Visas and premises
IFZA vs Meydan: how many visas and which office options does each allow?
Meydan allows up to six visa allocations per licence, each charged at AED 1,850 before the visa itself, and includes a flexi-desk, with dedicated desk and office upgrades. IFZA does not publish a visa quota: its proposal sets out the visa package and office, from a Flexidesk to private and personalised offices at IFZA Business Park.
| Factor | IFZA | Meydan |
|---|---|---|
| Visa quota | Not published | Up to six visa allocations under one licence, stated plainly |
| Allocation fee | Not stated | AED 1,850 per allocation, before the visa itself |
| How you start | A consultation and a proposal that sets out the licence, activities, visa package and office | Not stated |
| Desk included | Not stated | A flexi-desk is included with every licence |
| Office options | Listed by IFZA Property at IFZA Business Park: Flexidesk (a shared workstation with ten hours of access a week), Flexidesk+ with a dedicated desk, and dedicated, private and personalised offices | For more space: a dedicated desk, a shared office and a dedicated office |
- Planning one or two visas: both zones can work on a desk-based package. Ask for the visa count in writing before you sign.
- Planning a team: in Meydan, six allocations is the published ceiling per licence. In IFZA, ask the proposal to state how many visas the chosen office supports.
- Family: once you hold a residence visa, see our family visa page for sponsoring dependants.
Fees
IFZA vs Meydan cost: what does each zone publish?
Meydan publishes its standard licence with no visa allocation at AED 12,500 a year and Fawri from AED 15,000, but not separate renewal fees. IFZA publishes no AED prices: licence and visa costs are quoted on request through a proposal, so a like-for-like comparison is only possible once you have an IFZA proposal in hand.
IFZA: no authority prices published (quoted on request). IFZA does not publish these fees on its website, or we have not yet verified them. We quote them in writing, itemised, before you commit.
IFZA publishes no AED prices anywhere on its website. Licence and visa costs are not published; they are quoted on request through a proposal. We will not estimate them here.
| Fee | AED | Charged by | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fawri – Instant License in Dubai | 15,000 | Authority | meydanfz.ae |
| Shared office | 15,000 | Authority | meydanfz.ae |
| Dubai trade license (LLC-FZ, 0-visa allocation) | 12,500 | Authority | meydanfz.ae |
| Dedicated desk | 3,500 | Authority | meydanfz.ae |
| Additional shareholder (beyond 6 included) | 2,000 | Authority | meydanfz.ae |
| Immigration and Establishment Card | 2,000 | Government | meydanfz.ae |
| Additional business activity | 1,000 | Authority | meydanfz.ae |
Figures from the authority’s own fee page, last checked 17 October 2026. Some exclude VAT. This is not the whole cost: visas, office, our fee and any approvals are separate. Lines older than 90 days drop off until re-checked.
Meydan's standard licence with no visa allocation is published at AED 12,500 a year, and Fawri from AED 15,000. Some of Meydan's visa and office figures come from its own blog and cost pages and are marked 'from' or 'around', so treat them as starting points. Renewal fees are not published separately.
Because IFZA does not publish prices, a like-for-like cost comparison is only possible once you have an IFZA proposal in hand. Our quote shows government and authority fees separately from Aizaa's fee, so you can put the two zones side by side line by line. For a first estimate, try the cost calculator or read business setup cost in Dubai.
Fit
Which founder fits IFZA, and which fits Meydan?
Meydan fits founders who want to see prices first, single owners wanting the Fawri licence quickly, and plans within its published ceiling of six visas per licence. IFZA fits founders combining commercial and professional activities through cross licensing, or wanting a later office at IFZA Business Park. Neither grants outside approvals for regulated activities.
Neither zone is the right answer for everyone. These are the patterns we see, not a ranking.
- You want to see prices before you talk to anyone: Meydan publishes its licence, activity and visa allocation prices. IFZA does not.
- You are one person and want the licence quickly: Meydan's Fawri licence is built for single-owner companies. Check the activity is on the Fawri list, which Meydan says is shorter than the full catalogue.
- You need commercial and professional activities together: IFZA's cross licensing is designed for that. In Meydan, check that your three activity groups cover both sides.
- You want a physical office in the same business park later: IFZA Business Park in Dubai Silicon Oasis offers desks through to personalised offices. Meydan lists desk and office upgrades at its business centre.
- You plan more than six visas on one licence: Meydan's published ceiling is six. Ask IFZA to state its figure in the proposal.
- You are regulated, such as health, education or financial activities: neither zone grants the outside approval for you. Budget time for the regulator first.
If your clients are mostly inside the UAE, compare a mainland licence first. See mainland vs free zone. If you are weighing a larger zone, read DMCC vs IFZA.
Shared rules
What do IFZA and Meydan have in common?
Both are Dubai free zones under the same federal and Dubai rules: a company trades freely within its zone and abroad, but reaches the UAE mainland only through a licensed distributor, a mainland branch or company, or approvals. Under Executive Council Resolution No. 11 of 2025, DET may also license Dubai free zone companies outside their zone.
Both are Dubai free zones, so the same federal and Dubai rules apply to both. A free zone company can trade freely within its zone and abroad, but access to the UAE mainland is regulated. The UAE Government portal says a free zone company sells locally through a licensed mainland distributor, a mainland branch or company, or with the required mainland approvals.
Dubai added a route in 2025. Under Executive Council Resolution No. 11 of 2025, Dubai's Department of Economy and Tourism (DET) may license a Dubai free zone company to operate in Dubai outside its zone, through a branch licence or a permit for specific activities. Records for mainland work must be kept separate. Meydan describes this as an NOC with DET approval. Whether your activity qualifies is DET's decision, so check before you plan around it.
Corporate tax basics. UAE corporate tax is 0% on taxable income up to AED 375,000 and 9% above that. A free zone company that meets the Qualifying Free Zone Person conditions, including adequate substance, can apply 0% to qualifying income; other taxable income is taxed at 9%. Whether your income qualifies is a question for a tax adviser.
Next step
How does Aizaa help you choose between IFZA and Meydan?
Aizaa starts with a free 30-minute call on your activity, visa needs and where your clients are, then gives a fixed, written, itemised quote for the zone that fits, with government fees shown separately. One named person handles your file from application to licence, establishment card and visas. Banks and authorities decide on accounts and visas.
- A free 30-minute call to understand your activity, visa needs and where your clients are.
- A fixed, written, itemised quote for the zone that fits, with government fees shown separately from our fee.
- One named person on your file from application to licence, establishment card and visas.
- If a bank account is next, we prepare the file; see bank account opening.
What we will not promise: banks decide on bank accounts and the authorities decide on visas. We cannot guarantee either, in IFZA, Meydan or anywhere else. We tell you early if your file has a weak point.
Questions
IFZA vs Meydan Free Zone: common questions
Anything else? Ask on WhatsApp and the person who handles it will answer.
Is IFZA or Meydan cheaper?
We cannot say, because IFZA publishes no prices. Meydan publishes its standard licence with no visa allocation at AED 12,500 a year and charges AED 1,850 per visa allocation. IFZA's licence and visa costs are quoted on request through a proposal. The only fair comparison is two written quotes for the same activities, visas and office, compared line by line.
How many visas can I get with Meydan Free Zone?
Meydan says up to six visa allocations are allowed under one licence. Each allocation is charged separately, on top of the visa itself, and a flexi-desk is included with every licence. If you expect to sponsor more than six people on one licence, raise it with Meydan before you choose, and get the answer in writing.
Does IFZA publish its visa quota and prices?
No. IFZA's website publishes no AED prices and no visa quota. Its process starts with a consultation, then a tailored proposal setting out the licence type, activities, visa package and office solution. Ask for the number of visas the chosen office supports to be stated in that proposal before you pay.
Can an IFZA or Meydan company work on the Dubai mainland?
Not directly by default. A free zone company normally sells to the mainland through a licensed distributor, a mainland branch or company, or with mainland approvals. Since Executive Council Resolution No. 11 of 2025, DET may license a Dubai free zone company to operate in Dubai through a branch licence or an activity permit. Eligibility depends on the activity.
How many activities are included in an IFZA or Meydan licence?
Both include up to three activity groups in the standard licence fee. Further activities cost extra in both zones; Meydan publishes AED 1,000 per additional activity. IFZA can combine commercial and professional activities on one licence. Regulated activities in either zone may need approval from another government body first.
Can I set up an IFZA or Meydan company without visiting Dubai?
Both zones describe a remote process. IFZA says no physical presence is required during incorporation. Meydan says non-residents can register a company and apply for a residence visa online. Residence visa steps such as the medical test and Emirates ID still have to be completed, and banks may ask to meet you. See starting from abroad.
Sources
Where these facts come from
The official pages we checked. Rules and fees change; we confirm the current position before we advise you.
- IFZA licence options, branch, consultation and proposal process, head office address — IFZA: ifza.comChecked 3 November 2026
- IFZA FZCO licences, Professional Partner network, no physical presence during incorporation — IFZA: ifza.comChecked 3 November 2026
- IFZA: three activity groups in the standard fee, cross licensing, green and amber activities — IFZA: ifza.comChecked 3 November 2026
- IFZA office options: Flexidesk, Flexidesk+, dedicated, private and personalised offices — IFZA: ifza.comChecked 3 November 2026
- Meydan licence types, 2,500+ activities, three activity groups, flexi-desk, mainland NOC with DET, Meydan Hotel consultations — Meydan Free Zone: meydanfz.aeChecked 3 November 2026
- Meydan: up to six visa allocations, flexi-desk included, office upgrades, Fawri for one-person companies — Meydan Free Zone: meydanfz.aeChecked 3 November 2026
- Meydan Fawri instant licence and additional activity fee — Meydan Free Zone: meydanfz.aeChecked 3 November 2026
- Meydan Free Zone address, Meydan Grandstand, Nad Al Sheba 1 — Meydan Free Zone: meydanfz.aeChecked 3 November 2026
- Free zone companies: mainland access through a licensed distributor, a mainland branch or company, or the required approvals — u.ae (UAE Government portal): u.aeChecked 3 November 2026
- Executive Council Resolution No. 11 of 2025: DET may license Dubai free zone establishments to operate in Dubai outside the zone — Dubai Media Office: mediaoffice.aeChecked 3 November 2026
- Executive Council Resolution No. 11 of 2025, full text — Dubai Legislation Portal: dlp.dubai.gov.aeChecked 3 November 2026
- Corporate tax: 0% up to AED 375,000 of taxable income, 9% above; applies from financial years starting on or after 1 June 2023 — u.ae (UAE Government portal): u.aeChecked 3 November 2026
- Qualifying Free Zone Persons: 0% on qualifying income, 9% on other taxable income, substance conditions — Federal Decree-Law No. 47 of 2022, Articles 3 and 18, Ministry of Finance: mof.gov.aeChecked 3 November 2026
- IFZA's full name, International Free Zone Authority, and its agreement to operate from Dubai Silicon Oasis — Dubai Media Office: mediaoffice.aeChecked 3 November 2026
Related
Often read alongside this
Free, 30 minutes, no obligation
Get your free setup plan
A 30-minute call with the person who handles setups. You leave with a recommended jurisdiction, a timeline and a written, itemised quote.
You will speak with our team, led by Auj Afreen Ahmad and Tabish Ahmed.
- WhatsApp, fastest+971 55 786 7621
- Call+971 55 786 7621
- Emailinfo@aizaa.ae
- Office, by appointmentAl Shaikh Building 5, Al Khabaisi, Deira, Dubai
- HoursMonday to Friday, 9:00 to 18:00 GST
Want this worked out for your business?
Free call, written recommendation, fixed quote. No obligation.