Ajman · Mainland
Ajman mainland business setup, and whether it suits you
A licence from Ajman's economic department: direct UAE trade with some of the lowest premises costs in the country.
Written by Tabish Ahmed, Senior ManagerReviewed by Auj Afreen Ahmad, Founder and Chief Executive OfficerLast updated
At a glance
Ajman mainland in summary
| Factor | Position |
|---|---|
| Licensing authority | Ajman Department of Economic Development |
| Ownership | 100% foreign ownership for most commercial and professional activities; a few activities still carry local participation requirements |
| Market access | Sell directly anywhere in the UAE |
| Premises | Physical premises usually required; shops and workshops are inexpensive |
| Audit | Activity dependent; confirm with the department and your bank |
| Best for | Workshops, small traders and retailers serving Ajman and the northern emirates |
Published fees
Activities: DED Ajman publishes component government fees per service card, not per-activity totals. Note: Only the commercial licence service cards itemise fees; Ajman Chamber fees and fines apply but amounts not stated; VAT treatment not stated; licence valid 1-3 years.
Visas: Visas are handled by federal authorities; no visa fees published by DED Ajman.
Authority fees, as published
| Item | AED | Charged | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Abbreviated or Gulf trade nameannual | 2,000renewal 2,000 | Once | Authority pagechecked 2026-10-17 |
| Administrative services application | 50renewal 50 | OnceCommercial licence | Authority pagechecked 2026-10-17 |
| Approval of an Advertising Banner Specification Form | 100 | OnceCommercial licence | Authority pagechecked 2026-10-17 |
| Commercial registration certificate | 200 | OnceCommercial licence | Authority pagechecked 2026-10-17 |
| Economic license renewal/issuancecomponent fee on Commercial Licenses Issuance service card DED01.002 | 600renewal 600 | OnceCommercial licence | Authority pagechecked 2026-10-17 |
| Foreign trade name or numbersannual | 2,000renewal 2,000 | Once | Authority pagechecked 2026-10-17 |
| Permit to place a commercial name advertising banner | 350renewal 350 | OnceCommercial licence | Authority pagechecked 2026-10-17 |
| Registration in the commercial register | 200renewal 200 | OnceCommercial licence | Authority pagechecked 2026-10-17 |
| Registration in the unified economic activities register | 200renewal 200 | OnceCommercial licence | Authority pagechecked 2026-10-17 |
| Trade name indicative of geographical or localized scopeannual | 1,000renewal 1,000 | Once | Authority pagechecked 2026-10-17 |
| Trade name reservation (service fee) | 350 | Once | Authority pagechecked 2026-10-17 |
Government fees for residence visas
| Item | AED | Charged | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Business centre commission cap per MOHRE serviceMax commission for Tawteen/business centres; free via MOHRE app; mainland companies only | 72 | Per visa | Authority pagechecked 2026-10-17 |
| Community contribution of companies and establishments to the CSR UAE Fundalso listed on renewal service card | 1,500renewal 1,500 | Once | Authority pagechecked 2026-10-17 |
| Emirates ID renewal for residents, per year of residencePlus AED100 Smart Application Fees; service 377-004-001-009; ICP Emirates ID | 100 | Per visa | Authority pagechecked 2026-10-17 |
| Emirates ID Smart Service Fees (new issuance, residents)Fixed per application; ICP Emirates ID | 100 | Per visa | Authority pagechecked 2026-10-17 |
| Emirates ID urgent service fee (ICP centres only)Optional fast-track, in-person only; ICP Emirates ID | 150 | Per visa | Authority pagechecked 2026-10-17 |
| ICP entry visa for employment to obtain Green ResidencePlus AED100 application fee and AED100 smart service fee; ICP federal system (emirates other than Dubai) | 100 | Per visa | Authority pagechecked 2026-10-17 |
| ICP golden residence issuance (10-yr), per yearPlus AED100 application fee and AED100 smart service fee; Golden Visa route | 100 | Per visa | Authority pagechecked 2026-10-17 |
| ICP residence permit application feeService 377-006-003-000; federal/ICP system (emirates other than Dubai); ICP federal system (emirates other than Dubai) | 100 | Per visa | Authority pagechecked 2026-10-17 |
| ICP residence permit issuance fee, per yearAED100 per year of validity (2-yr visa = AED200); ICP federal system (emirates other than Dubai) | 100 | Per visa | Authority pagechecked 2026-10-17 |
| ICP residence permit renewal fee, per yearPlus AED100 application fee and AED100 smart service fee; service 377-006-003-003; ICP federal system (emirates other than Dubai) | 100 | Per visa | Authority pagechecked 2026-10-17 |
| ICP smart service feeListed as 'Smart Service Fees' on residence issuance; ICP federal system (emirates other than Dubai) | 100 | Per visa | Authority pagechecked 2026-10-17 |
| ICP status adjustment (change of status)Listed as 'Status Adjustment - 500 AED'; ICP federal system (emirates other than Dubai) | 500 | Per visa | Authority pagechecked 2026-10-17 |
| MOHAP medical fitness with vaccination (Category B)AED250 + AED50 Hepatitis B vaccination + AED10 printing; medical fitness | 310 | Per visa | Authority pagechecked 2026-10-17 |
| MOHAP medical fitness, female cat. with pregnancy test (C)AED250 + AED50 vaccination + AED50 pregnancy test + AED10 printing; medical fitness | 360 | Per visa | Authority pagechecked 2026-10-17 |
| MOHAP medical fitness, workers/employees (Category A)AED250 service + AED10 printing; emirates other than Dubai/Abu Dhabi; medical fitness | 260 | Per visa | Authority pagechecked 2026-10-17 |
| MOHRE work permit issuance, 2 years, Category 1 companyFederal fee; excludes tax and collection charges; mainland companies only | 250 | Per visa | Authority pagechecked 2026-10-17 |
| MOHRE work permit issuance, 2 years, Category 2 companyFederal fee; excludes tax and collection charges; mainland companies only | 1,200 | Per visa | Authority pagechecked 2026-10-17 |
| MOHRE work permit issuance, 2 years, Category 3 companyFederal fee; excludes tax and collection charges; mainland companies only | 3,450 | Per visa | Authority pagechecked 2026-10-17 |
| New Emirates ID for residents, per year of residence1yr=100, 2yr=200, 3yr=300; 5/10-yr cards follow same per-year rate; ICP Emirates ID | 100 | Per visa | Authority pagechecked 2026-10-17 |
| Publishing the official document of a limited liability company, Ministry of EconomyLLCs only | 3,000 | Once | Authority pagechecked 2026-10-17 |
Every figure above comes from the authority’s own fee page or schedule, with the link beside it and was last checked on 17 October 2026. Fees change, some exclude VAT, and the list is not everything a setup costs: our professional fee, office rent, document attestation and bank requirements are quoted separately. Lines older than 90 days drop off until re-checked.
What happens after formation
Corporate tax registration, bookkeeping, VAT if you cross the threshold, and — in many zones — audited financial statements at renewal. We set the dates out before you launch rather than after.
Package contents, visa quotas, activity lists and audit requirements are set by each authority and change. Every figure is confirmed against the authority’s current terms at the time we advise you.
Next step
Thinking about Ajman mainland?
A short call, a written comparison, and fixed fees before anything starts.
Monday to Friday, 9:00–18:00 GST. Messages outside those hours are answered the next working morning. WhatsApp +971 55 786 7621.